Logical Flaw in Deletion of Files in a Project

I've noticed a massive flaw that has existed already a long time:

When I delete a file from a project, it should be deleted on all levels so I can add a file with the same name again, correct? That is not the case.

When I delete the files, it still is in the language folders, e.g. en-us, and it is also listed in the sdlproj file.

Why is this happening? I'm sorry to say this, but this is not logical. I kindly request to change this. When I delete something, it should be deleted - everywhere.



Removed AI Suggestion
[edited by: Matthias Burbank at 10:23 AM (GMT 0) on 11 Dec 2025]
emoji
Parents
  •  

    I don't find it illogical. If you delete the target version of the file, the target version is deleted. If you switch to the source view and delete the source version, both versions are deleted.

    You could add a dialogue box that pops up after deleting a target language file and asks you whether you want to delete the corresponding source language file(s) as well. That would be nice.

    Daniel

    emoji
  • When I do a right click on the file in the project, it says "Delete files" in the context menu. However, the files remain in the project folders and thus I can't add files with the same name again. Excuse me, but this does not correspond to the modern idea of file handling in a software.
    Also, this is not done by simply deleting source and/or target files. The info on the file remains in the sdlproj file and this way, even if you have deleted all the files, the info remains there and Trados doesn't allow to add that file a second time.

    It's true that adding a dialog box for some more info or even the selection of options would be nice. But that would be the task of the developers team for Trados Studio at RWS.

    emoji
  •  

    When I do a right click on the file in the project, it says "Delete files" in the context menu. However, the files remain in the project folders

    As   said, do it in the Source tree and you’ll get what you want. Deleting some target files and not others can be useful when a file is needed for a specific language but not needed for another language. Delete it from the Source tree, and all of them will be gone and you’ll be able to add the same file agin.

    The info on the file remains in the sdlproj file and this way

    The information is kept in the project file until the logic behind the system decides to save the changes.

    emoji
Reply Children